Print Options

Committee on Immunology


  • Peter Savage, Pathology


  • Erin Adams, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Maria Luisa Alegre, Medicine
  • John Alverdy, Surgery
  • Luis Barreiro, Medicine
  • Eugene Chang, Medicine
  • Alexander Chervonsky, Pathology
  • Anita Chong, Surgery
  • Marcus Clark, Medicine
  • Aaron Dinner, Chemistry
  • Aaron Esser-Kahn, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
  • Thomas Gajewski, Pathology and Medicine
  • Yoav Gilad, Human Genetics
  • Tatyana Golovkina, Microbiology
  • Chuan He, Chemistry
  • Jeffrey Hubbell, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
  • Bana Jabri, Medicine
  • Barbara Kee, Pathology
  • Shabaana Khader, Microbiology
  • Justin Kline, Medicine
  • Rima McLeod, Surgery
  • Cathryn Nagler, Pathology
  • Eric Pamer, Medicine
  • Glenn Randall, Microbiology
  • Anthony Reder, Neurology
  • Raymond Roos, Neurology
  • Hans Schreiber, Pathology
  • Melody Swartz, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
  • Savas Tay, Professor

Associate Professors

  • Jun Huang, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
  • Peter Savage, Pathology

Assistant Professors

  • Jueqi Chen, Microbiology
  • Nicolas Chevrier, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
  • Roshni Roy Chowdhury, Medicine
  • Axel Concepcion, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Martina Damo, Medicine
  • Daria Esterhazy, Pathology
  • Aly Khan, Medicine
  • Andrew Koh, Pathology
  • Yuxuan Miao, Ben May Department for Cancer Research
  • Samantha Riesenfeld, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
  • Nathan Schoettler, Medicine
  • Lin Shen, Medicine
  • Randy Sweis, Medicine
  • Joshua Weinstein, Medicine
  • Ada Weinstock, Medicine
  • David Zemmour, Pathology

The Committee on Immunology offers a graduate program of study leading to the Doctor of Philosophy degree in Immunology. The committee is dedicated to the open exchange of ideas among scholars of all fields, a commitment enhanced by an organizational structure that completely integrates the basic biological sciences with the clinical sciences. This multidisciplinary and integrated approach corresponds well with the reality of the new biology, where molecular and structural techniques are applied widely and with great success to clinical problems.

The Committee on Immunology is a member of the Biomedical Sciences Cluster, which also includes graduate programs from the Committee on Cancer Biology, Committee on Microbiology, and the Committee on Molecular Metabolism and Nutrition. The four academic units share several common courses, a seminar series and additional common events for students and faculty within the cluster. The goal of the cluster system is to encourage interdisciplinary interactions among both trainees and faculty, and to allow students flexibility in designing their particular course of study.

In addition to formal course work, the Committee on Immunology sponsors a weekly seminar series, an annual retreat where students and faculty present their research, and several focused group meetings.


Prospective students interested in obtaining the Ph.D. in Immunology should submit an application to the Biological Sciences Division by December 1st of each year; indicate their cluster of interest as Biomedical Sciences and select Immunology as their proposed degree program.

The Degree of Doctor of Philosophy

Ph.D. requirements include:

  • Completion of 7 course credits consisting of basic science, immunology and elective courses.
  • A preliminary examination.
  • A dissertation based on original research.
  • A final thesis examination.

Committee on Immunology Courses

IMMU 30010Immunopathology100
IMMU 30266Molecular Immunology100
IMMU 30800Readings: Immunobiology100
IMMU 30810Cancer Immunology100
IMMU 31000BMSC All Stars50
IMMU 31100Ethics in Scientific Research50
IMMU 31200Host Pathogen Interactions100
IMMU 31500Advanced Immunology100
IMMU 32000Molecular Mechanisms of Immune Cell Development and Function100
IMMU 40100Research: Immunology300
IMMU 40200Experimental Immunology50
IMMU 47300Genomics and Systems Biology100