Committee on Immunology

Chair

Bana Jabri, Medicine

Professors

- Erin Adams, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
- Maria Luisa Alegre, Medicine
- John Alverdy, Surgery
- Eugene Chang, Medicine
- Alexander Chervonsky, Pathology
- Anita Chong, Surgery
- Marcus Clark, Medicine
- Aaron Dinner, Chemistry
- Thomas Gajewski, Pathology and Medicine
- Yoav Gilad, Human Genetics
- Tatyana Golovkina, Microbiology
- Chuan He, Chemistry
- Jun Huang, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
- Jeffrey Hubbell, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
- Bana Jabri, Medicine
- Barbara Kee, Pathology
- Rima McLeod, Surgery
- Cathryn Nagler, Pathology
- Eric Pamer, Medicine
- Glenn Randall, Microbiology
- Anthony Reder, Neurology
- Raymond Roos, Neurology
- Hans Schreiber, Pathology
- Melody Swartz, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering

Associate Professors

- Luis Barreiro, Medicine
- Aaron Esser-Kahn, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
- Justin Kline, Medicine
- Peter Savage, Pathology

Assistant Professors

- Nicolas Chevrier, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
- Jueqi Chen, Microbiology
- Roshni Roy Chowdhury, Medicine
- Axel Concepcion, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
- Daria Esterhazy, Pathology
- Andrew Koh, Pathology
- Yuxuan Miao, Ben May Department for Cancer Research
- Samantha Riesenfeld, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering
- Nathan Schoettler, Medicine
- Randy Sweis, Medicine
- Joshua Weinstein, Medicine
- David Zemmour, Pathology

The Committee on Immunology offers a graduate program of study leading to the Doctor of Philosophy degree in Immunology. The committee is dedicated to the open exchange of ideas among scholars of all fields, a commitment enhanced by an organizational structure that completely integrates the basic biological sciences with the clinical sciences. This multidisciplinary and integrated approach corresponds well with the reality of

the new biology, where molecular and structural techniques are applied widely and with great success to clinical problems.

The Committee on Immunology is a member of the Biomedical Sciences Cluster, which also includes graduate programs from the Committee on Cancer Biology, Committee on Microbiology, and the Committee on Molecular Metabolism and Nutrition. The four academic units share several common courses, a seminar series and additional common events for students and faculty within the cluster. The goal of the cluster system is to encourage interdisciplinary interactions among both trainees and faculty, and to allow students flexibility in designing their particular course of study.

In addition to formal course work, the Committee on Immunology sponsors a weekly seminar series, an annual retreat where students and faculty present their research, and several focused group meetings.

Admission

Prospective students interested in obtaining the Ph.D. in Immunology should submit an application to the Biological Sciences Division by December 1st of each year; indicate their cluster of interest as Biomedical Sciences and select Immunology as their proposed degree program.

THE DEGREE OF DOCTOR OF PHILOSOPHY

Ph.D. requirements include:

- Completion of 9 course credits consisting of basic science, immunology and elective courses.
- A preliminary examination.
- A dissertation based on original research.
- A final thesis examination.

COMMITTEE ON IMMUNOLOGY COURSES

Immunopathology	100
Molecular Immunology	100
Readings: Immunobiology	100
Cancer Immunology	100
BMSC All Stars	50
Ethics in Scientific Research	50
Host Pathogen Interactions	100
Advanced Immunology	100
Molecular Mechanisms of Immune Cell Development and Function	100
Research: Immunology	300
Experimental Immunology	50
Genomics and Systems Biology	100
	Molecular Immunology Readings: Immunobiology Cancer Immunology BMSC All Stars Ethics in Scientific Research Host Pathogen Interactions Advanced Immunology Molecular Mechanisms of Immune Cell Development and Function Research: Immunology Experimental Immunology

